Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

About the Library

UW-Parkside Streaming Media Policy

Collection Development Policy: Streaming Media

Parkside Library works with faculty to provide licensed streaming media for classroom use, on-campus or off. While videos in Parkside Library’s DVD Collection can be checked out for in-class use and put on two hour or one day course reserve, Films on Demand and other streaming media databases make more than 40,000 streaming videos available to Parkside faculty, staff and students. Most of our streaming media databases comply with the UW-Parkside Copyright Policy and Media Accessibility Policy and because of this, the library is in a good position to support faculty in embedding multimedia into the online classroom without overtaxing departmental library resource budgets.

We encourage faculty to work closely with their library liaison to identify streaming media to use in the curriculum. Faculty are first encouraged to search and browse through the current streaming media offerings. We will not pursue individual streaming media licenses for individual videos. If there are movies in the curriculum for which off-campus or online accessibility is a requirement, but they are not in the library’s streaming media offerings, the library liaison will make every effort to add the DVD to the Parkside Library DVD Collection using a portion of the faculty’s department materials budget. Per the Copyright Policy and Media Accessibility Policy, the DVD must include closed captioning. Further, faculty should notify students in the syllabus that they will need to find alternative means of viewing the required movie, including but not limited to, borrowing the DVD from Parkside Library. Some videos are unavailable on DVD or through the library’s streaming media databases. In these cases, faculty should notify students in the syllabus that they will need to find alternative means of viewing the required movie, such as using a commercial streaming service or renting/purchasing the film online.

See a list of library-licensed streaming media database options here. This includes:

Updated 5/2021

University of Wisconsin-Parkside Library   |   Contact Us
900 Wood Road Kenosha, WI 53141 | (262) 595-3432