History Databases

Publications about the history and culture of the United States and Canada.

Articles on world history (excluding the United States & Canada) from 1450 to the present. For US & Canadian history, use America History and Life.

Full-text scholarly journals, books, images, and primary sources primarily in the humanities and social sciences.

Journal articles and ebooks in literature, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies. 1995–present

US newspapers viewable as full-page images.

History encyclopedias, non-fiction books, and other documents. Funded by BadgerLink.

Articles from popular American magazines of the 20th century.

Primary sources covering late 19th and 20th century American history.
*If access doesn't work on the first click, try again*

Peer-reviewed journals, newspapers and magazines, books and other publications on many subjects.

Primary source material in American history.

Encyclopedia about Black American music including song sheets and album notes.

Newspapers and magazines by and about Black Americans.

Special-interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and other historical periodicals from 1740–1900.

Search across all of their Gale primary source collections.

Diaries and letters of British and Irish women from 1500-1900.

British historic newspapers. Includes essays and contextual materials to help with analysis.

Summaries of demographic, historical, cultural, economic, religious, and political information on countries.

Books and primary sources documenting relationships between people in North America from 1534-1850.

Covers the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa. Has an overview of each country in the region.

Access limited to 1 user at a time
Information on medieval bishoprics, archdioceses, and religious orders.

Primary sources related to the Americas and written in Europe before 1750.

Streaming educational videos across many disciplines. Faculty can create playlists, link to individual videos, and embed videos in Canvas.

Primary sources on women's history and feminism from 1543–1945.

Includes primary documents and scholarly commentary covering the period between the end of the Civil War and the election of Theodore Roosevelt

Genealogy search and historical records. Funded by BadgerLink.

Access limited to 1 user at a time
Covers Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East for the years 300-1500 CE.

Access limited to 1 user at a time
Covers all branches of Medieval Studies for the period from 300 to 1500 AD/CE for the whole of Europe and parts of the Middle East and North Africa. (published 1977-1999)

Covers research, policy, and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia, and North Africa.

Articles from military and general interest publications covering current news on the military and military life.

Anyone with a valid UWP email address can sign up for free access to the NYTimes.com website and smartphone apps.
Please read registration instructions.

Full page and article images with full text back to the first issue.

National and regional newspapers from 19th-century Britain.

Historical newspapers.

Primary-sources of the 1800s mainly from Western perspectives.

Personal narratives from people who immigrated to the U.S. and Canada before 1950.

Newspaper articles from nineteenth-century America.

Diaries, biographies, and correspondence from U.S. and Canadian women through 1950.

Archives of the newspaper The Times of London from 1785–1985.

Eyewitness accounts, pictures, and museum objects. Dozens of essays, educational activities, and reference tools.

Etiquette and personal conduct books from the 1900s.

Digital resources that document the university and State of Wisconsin and provide access to rare or fragile items of broad research value. The UWDCC has also partnered with cultural heritage institutions and public libraries throughout Wisconsin to create digital resources.

Personal account required.
American daily newspaper. Anyone with a valid UWP email address can sign up for free access to washingtonpost.com.
Please read registration instructions.

Documents, articles, and teaching tools focused on women's activism in public life and social movements.