History Databases

An important daily newspaper, the Eagle was unusual for its time since it covered national as well as regional news.

This site offers access to multiple newspapers from both the Confederate and Union states. Over 1,400 newspapers are in the archive.

The archive of this popular weekly newspaper highlights only the Civil War years.

This paper was published from the Confederate capital and has a digitized and searchable online archive of 1,384 issues.

This site from the Furman University history department in South Carolina contains transcribed editorials from contemporary newspapers, all from the 1850s.

Approximately 7,000 portraits and battleground images are available.

Nearly 3,000 maps are included in this online composite of three collections from the Library of Congress, the Virginia Historical Society, and the Library of Virginia.

he new era of photography brought the battles home during the American Civil War.

Approximately 20,000 documents, which include correspondence with enclosures of newspaper clippings, drafts of speeches, notes, pamphlets, and other printed material by Lincoln.

A collection of letters from both Union and Confederate soldiers, organized by name and regiment.

A collection of diaries and letters from Auburn University, covering both sides of the war; each item is scanned and transcribed.

Everyday people’s voices speak through their diaries, autobiographies, ex-slave accounts, and memoirs.

This special collection contains seven soldier’s diaries, which have been carefully scanned and transcribed. The soldiers represented are from both sides of the war.

The University of Wisconsin is in the process of digitizing letters, diaries, poetry, and other writings from Wisconsin’s soldiers.