Library: ENGL 100-101: ENGL 100 & 101

English Librarian

Jennie Callas

she/her

Email Me

Subjects: Criminal Justice, ENGL 100 & 101, English, Mathematics, Military Science, Physics, Sociology

Need Help?

Chat is offline. Please contact us by email or phone.

Reserve a Librarian

Library FAQ

You can also contact us by:

Email: askus@uwp.edu

Phone: 262-595-3432

Statistics and Background Information

Points of View Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Essays on controversial topics that present multiple sides of each issue. Articles include questions and materials for further study as well as references.
USA.gov This link opens in a new window
Portal to online federal and state government information.
Pew Research Center This link opens in a new window
Nonpartisan public opinion polling, demographic research, media analysis, and other social science research on issues, attitudes, and trends.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reports covering political and social issues, such as health, education, the environment, etc.
The Parkside subscription also includes CQ Global Researcher.

News Databases and Sites

The Conversation
In-depth analysis and research on current US events from academics and researchers.

Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
News articles from U.S. and international newspapers, and TV and radio transcripts. Funded by BadgerLink.
New York Times Academic Pass This link opens in a new window
Anyone with a valid UWP email address can sign up for free access to the NYTimes.com website and smartphone apps.
Please read registration instructions.

NPR
Online and radio source for news and topical podcasts.
ProPublica
"An independent, nonprofit newsroom that produces investigative journalism with moral force. We...shin[e] a light on abuses of power and betrayals of public trust — and we stick with those issues as long as it takes to hold power to account."

Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Personal account required.
American daily newspaper. Anyone with a valid UWP email address can sign up for free access to washingtonpost.com.
Please read registration instructions.

More Newspaper Databases

Databases for Current Topics

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed journals, newspapers and magazines, books and other publications on many subjects.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Journals covering communication, mass media, and related fields including journalism, speech and linguistics, broadcasting, and advertising.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Journals, books, reports, dissertations, and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines.
Education Research Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Journals and books covering all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Funded by BadgerLink.
GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles covering all aspects humans' impact on the environment including green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, etc. Funded by BadgerLink.
Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Consumer information on topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health. Funded by BadgerLink.
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, books, conference papers, and more in sociology and related topics such as gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racism, and social work.

Historical News and Lifestyle Publications

Reader's Guide Retrospective (1890-1982) (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Articles from popular American magazines of the 20th century.
Atlantic Magazine Archive (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers 1857 to present selectively. From September 1995 to the present, the archive is complete with the exception of a few articles.
Ebony Magazine Archive (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers civil rights, education, entrepreneurship, and other social topics providing a broad view of African-American culture from its first issue in 1945 through 2014.
Life Magazine Archive (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Articles, photos, and advertisements from Life's full run, 1936–2000.
Time Magazine Archive (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Articles and advertisements from the weekly news magazine, 1923–2000.

Historical Newspapers and Magazines