Collection Development Policy: Streaming Media
Parkside Library works with faculty to provide licensed streaming media for classroom use, on-campus or off. While videos in Parkside Library’s DVD Collection can be checked out for in-class use and put on two hour or one day course reserve, Films on Demand and other streaming media databases make more than 40,000 streaming videos available to Parkside faculty, staff and students. Most of our streaming media databases comply with the UW-Parkside Copyright Policy and Media Accessibility Policy and because of this, the library is in a good position to support faculty in embedding multimedia into the online classroom without overtaxing departmental library resource budgets.
We encourage faculty to work closely with their library liaison to identify streaming media to use in the curriculum. Faculty are first encouraged to search and browse through the current streaming media offerings. We will not pursue individual streaming media licenses for individual videos. If there are movies in the curriculum for which off-campus or online accessibility is a requirement, but they are not in the library’s streaming media offerings, the library liaison will make every effort to add the DVD to the Parkside Library DVD Collection using a portion of the faculty’s department materials budget. Per the Copyright Policy and Media Accessibility Policy, the DVD must include closed captioning. Further, faculty should notify students in the syllabus that they will need to find alternative means of viewing the required movie, including but not limited to, borrowing the DVD from Parkside Library. Some videos are unavailable on DVD or through the library’s streaming media databases. In these cases, faculty should notify students in the syllabus that they will need to find alternative means of viewing the required movie, such as using a commercial streaming service or renting/purchasing the film online.
See a list of library-licensed streaming media database options here. This includes:
Is the video TOO SMALL? Click here to watch on youtube: https://youtu.be/mcdN7eJyJ74
Did the video go TOO FAST? Go to the Powtoon website and click on "Slideshow" in the upper right-hand corner: https://www.powtoon.com/c/chZkIIjL24q/1/m
You can also provide a link to the streaming media, journal or website directly.
LINK IN Canvas instructions: https://community.canvaslms.com/docs/DOC-10301-415270926
Any of our streaming media videos can be embedded in Canvas.
EMBED IN Canvas instructions: https://community.canvaslms.com/docs/DOC-12691-4152724196
Sometimes embedded videos won't display correctly in Canvas so we have to prepare our students for how to deal with this issue.
As a teacher, it's probably a good idea to instruct your students on how to deal with insecure content in their browser of choice, because this happens when you least expect it, even on a secure site such as Canvas or library databases. - Paraphrased from above presentation
It's always a good idea to embed a video and also provide a link, just in case the video doesn't load properly.
See the example image below. Outlined in red is my embedded video and below it, I have included the link. This gives students the option of watching a larger version of the video and saving the link for future reference.
If you need help with any of this, please contact the library, askus@uwp.edu.
University of Wisconsin-Parkside Library | Contact Us
900 Wood Road Kenosha, WI 53141 | (262) 595-3432
