UW-PARKSIDE LIBRARY COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT POLICY
I. Introduction
The Collection Development Policy of the Library of the University of Wisconsin-Parkside outlines selection criteria and standards used in the acquisition of all library resources. Within the context of this policy, the term "collection development" is understood to encompass the selection of both materials owned by and housed in the Library and those electronic resources to which the Library provides access.
The purpose of the policy is to communicate to all library users, including staff, faculty, students, administrators, and community members, standards used in the selection of materials for the collection as well as the criteria used for weeding materials in the collection. It is hoped that the existence of this statement will facilitate the cooperation of all concerned groups in the implementation of the University's and the Library's mission and goals.
In order to keep the Library's policies responsive to changes in library science, technology, institutional goals and objectives, the curriculum and the university population, this policy will be revised and updated as necessary.
II. Mission and Goals
Mission: To support the curriculum, research and other information needs of the University by selecting, acquiring, organizing, preserving, and circulating or providing access to a collection of materials in a variety of formats (e.g., paper, electronic, audio-visual) and to reevaluate and weed materials from the collection in order to maintain its high quality and usefulness. Following the UW System’s “One System, One Library” concept, the idea of “collection” goes beyond the materials located in the UW-Parkside Library and more broadly refers to the collections of all UW System libraries. The UW System libraries jointly endeavor to develop these collections, allowing them to serve as interdependent resources for research and teaching.
|
Goals:
|
To ensure that the UW-Parkside Library’s collection, in conjunction with the other UW System library collections and resources, meets the information and research needs of faculty, staff and students. |
|
2. |
To provide materials to meet the cultural and intellectual needs of the community. |
|
3. |
To ensure a high-quality collection through ongoing evaluation. |
|
4. |
To ensure effective funding for collection development. |
|
5. |
To maintain a collection development budgeting system that makes it possible to allocate and monitor the expenditure of funds to meet library goals. |
|
6. |
To develop appropriate collection development policies and procedures. |
|
7. |
To facilitate the smooth coordination and implementation of collection development activities. |
III. General Policies
A. Clientele of the Library
The UW-Parkside Library directly serves the university community: the faculty, staff, and students of the University of Wisconsin-Parkside as well as the people, agencies, institutions, and businesses of the surrounding area. More generally, the Library serves UW System faculty, staff and students, and the residents of Southeastern Wisconsin and the State of Wisconsin.
B. Priorities and Criteria
The Library applies consistent practices and priorities in the expenditure of its finite resources. During the selection process, the following priorities and criteria are used to evaluate potential acquisitions:
|
Priority 1: |
Materials absolutely necessary to support the curriculum and items which should be part of any standard collection. |
|
Priority 2: |
Materials to support research and to enhance the teaching/learning process. |
|
Priority 3: |
Materials desirable for collection enrichment and collection balance. |
Criteria:
The Library will forego purchase of specialized or infrequently used materials if they can be readily borrowed directly from another library, accessed electronically, or acquired through document delivery.
C. Languages
The Library normally acquires materials in languages other than English only in support of either the language curricula or reference needs (e.g., dictionaries or encyclopedias). In addition, a limited number of Spanish language books are purchased for the Browsing Collection.
D. Multiple Copies
Requests for duplicate copies are reviewed individually, but, in general, the Library abstains from the purchase of duplicate copies of any given item except where clearly justified by heavy use. The Library's responsibility for ensuring availability of titles assigned for collateral reading, viewing, listening, etc. in specific courses is limited, except in unusual circumstances, to two copies that can be placed on reserve.
E. Gifts
The Library encourages the donation of books and other materials to the Friends of the UW-Parkside Library. The Library cannot appraise the materials or pay for them. Applying the same criteria to gift materials as it uses in purchasing new materials, the Library selectively transfers gifts received by the Friends of the UW-Parkside Library to the Library’s collection. Gift materials not added are made available at the annual Friends of the UW-Parkside Library booksale.
F. Copyright
The use of all materials will conform to U.S. Copyright law.
IV. Selection Process
Librarians and faculty cooperate to develop the Library's collection. The selection process is coordinated by the Collection Development Team.
The Collection Development Team consists of the Director of the Library, the Head of Collection Management, all librarians who serve as liaisons to academic disciplines and campus units, and other appropriate staff. The Head of Collection Management chairs the team and is responsible for overseeing the physical materials budget. Recommendations for the purchase of physical and electronic materials are accepted from faculty, staff, and students. Final responsibility for the selection of library resources lies with librarians.
V. Policies by Type of Material
Decisions regarding acquisition of all resources are based on the priorities and criteria stated in III.B-D.
A. Books
1. Softcovers
Most books are purchased in a softcover edition, if available. The decision to purchase a hardback edition is based on price, lack of availability of a softcover edition, anticipated use, long-term value of the title and other criteria.
2. Out-of-Print
The Library will attempt to find used or out-of-print books if they are not available new. The Acquisitions Department will contact online, out-of-print dealers. The search is stopped if these sources are unable to obtain the book.
3. Textbooks
In general, books used as textbooks for UW-P courses are not acquired for the collection. The library acquires for its Instructional Materials Collection (IMC) examples of textbooks used in elementary and secondary schools.
B. Periodicals and Newspapers
1. Journals
Curriculum needs are met primarily through onsite availability of print subscriptions and full text electronic databases, supplemented by interlibrary loan. Faculty research needs are met primarily through interlibrary loan and document delivery services.
Decisions to add new journal subscriptions are made on an individual basis. Justification for new requests is required; such requests are considered based upon criteria enumerated in III.B-D. and upon the following factors:
2. Newspapers
The Library acquires a limited number of newspapers in print format, covering local, state and national news. The Library makes available electronic access to a wide number of regional, national, and international newspapers.
C. Audiovisual Materials
Materials are acquired only in formats for which equipment is available in the Library. The Library does not pay preview charges. Audiovisual materials produced by faculty, staff and students are reviewed in consultation with faculty and are added to the collection when they meet the needs of the collection and are of high technical quality.
D. Maps
Maps are a very small part of the collection and are generally not acquired. Additional maps may be purchased as needed to provide direct support for classroom instruction and only at the request of the instructor. Atlases are included in the reference collection.
E. Musical Scores
Musical scores needed to support the music curricula are acquired.
F. Theses and Dissertations
Theses and dissertations are purchased based on anticipated use, the long-term value of the title, and price.
G. Government Documents
The Library is not a U.S. government documents depository library. Federal documents are individually selected as they meet the criteria applied to books and serials. The Library is a partial depository for Wisconsin documents. Only those documents fitting the needs of the campus community are retained. U.N. documents and documents of other counties are also added on an individual basis using the general selection criteria.
VI. Format of Materials
Materials may be available in more than one format (e.g., print, electronic). Factors taken into consideration in deciding which format will be purchased are cost, amount of use, ease of use, storage space required/available, preservation, illustrative and color content of original, availability to remote/simultaneous users, and frequency of updating.
The UW-Parkside Library currently prefers electronic format for most scholarly journals and indexing and abstracting services, and for many reference resources.
VII. Separate Collections
A. Reference
The Library maintains an authoritative, timely and balanced collection of non-circulating reference materials and provides access to a variety of electronic resources. The purposes of this collection are threefold:
B. University Archives
The University Archives acquires all non-current University records, in any format, deemed of long-term administrative, legal, financial, or historical value by the University Archivist in consultation with the office where the records were created. Since no records of the University may be destroyed without approval of the State’s Public Records Board, the University Archives serves as a clearinghouse for records disposal. Materials collected may include, but are not limited to, the files of campus units, publications, iconography, ephemera, audiovisual and electronic media. Some University records may be retained long-term in the office where they were created.
C. Area Research Center (ARC)
By agreement between the University and the State Historical Society of Wisconsin (SHSW), the Area Research Center collects historical manuscripts and archives of individuals and organizations in Racine and Kenosha counties. It also acquires non-current local public records of municipalities, towns, and counties for Racine and Kenosha counties. Because all ARC records are the legal property of SHSW, but remain in the physical custody of UW-Parkside, such acquisition decisions are shared by the University Archivist and the Coordinator for Area Research Centers of the State Historical Society of Wisconsin. The ARC complements its archival holdings with relevant print and microform material on local history and genealogy as well as manuscript collections that belong to UW-Parkside (e.g., Irving Wallace Collection).
D. Special Collections
The ARC collects historical manuscripts and archives of individuals, organizations and businesses in Racine and Kenosha counties. It also acquires non-current municipal, town and county public records for the two counties through the Wisconsin Historical Society. All ARC records belonging to the Wisconsin Historical Society are the legal property of the WHS, though they are physically held in the UW-Parkside Archives, and collection decisions regarding these materials are shared by the University Archivist and the WHS. Other holdings of the UW-Parkside Archives are approved by the University Archivist. The ARC complements its archival holdings with relevant print, microform, and other materials on local history and development. Monetary appraisals of new accessions will not be provided by the Archives, nor will the Archives purchase collections.
E. Instructional Materials Collections
The Library collects materials related to elementary and secondary education curricula. The IMC collection consists of textbooks aimed at the elementary and secondary levels. The IMC/C collection consists of children's and young adult's fiction and nonfiction literature in printed form.
F. Browsing Collection
The Browsing Collection consists of materials of current interest that are desirable for curriculum development, collection enrichment and collection balance (typically Collection Development Priority 3). Both fiction and non-fiction items are considered.
G. UW-Parkside Authors Collection.
The UW-Parkside Authors Collection is composed of monographs written, edited, compiled, translated or illustrated by faculty and staff during the time they were employed at UW-P. Articles, scholarly papers, and similar publications are not included in the collection and the Library reserves the right to include and exclude publications at its discretion. Due to the fact that some materials may be better served in other areas of the library, the collection is not a comprehensive holding of all UW-Parkside authors’ works.
VII. Collection Evaluation
In order to maintain a viable and useful collection and to assure adequate space for its housing, the Library systematically weeds the collection. Materials which have become obsolete or are no longer relevant are withdrawn from the collection and placed in the annual booksale. Materials in poor physical condition are reviewed for repair or discard and replacement.
The weeding process is the responsibility of the Collection Development Team in consultation with the appropriate discipline faculty and is an ongoing component of collection development.
VIII. Interlibrary Cooperation and Collection Development
"The UW System libraries, fostering the 'one system, one library' concept by working together as a coordinated university library system, provide students, faculty, and staff and Wisconsin citizens with access to a great combined library collection and to a global network of electronic information resources." The UW System libraries strive to cooperate in the development their collections, which serve as interdependent resources for research and teaching. Books and A/V materials that are available for regular checkout at any University of Wisconsin library can be identified and borrowed directly by UW-P students, faculty and staff using special features of the Library’s catalog. In addition, the Library has reciprocal borrowing privileges with Carthage College. Participation in direct interlibrary loan arrangements with libraries in Kenosha and Racine counties enables the Library to fill many interlibrary loan requests quickly.
IX. Additional Resources
Library Bill of Rights and its interpretations
Freedom to Read Statement
Intellectual Freedom
Freedom to View
(Revised August 2013)
University of Wisconsin-Parkside Library Electronic Resources Policy
I. SCOPE
This policy addresses the selection, acquisition and delivery of electronic journals and databases. Access may be the result of:
A. individual electronic-only subscriptions
B. multi-title electronic packages, ordered from publishers
C. electronic versions bundled with print subscriptions (i.e. where electronic full-text is available only to print subscribers)
D. aggregate products from information providers such as Ebsco, Gale, and ProQuest (the Library has no control over the content of these collections)
E. free access
II. SELECTION, EVALUATION AND DESELECTION CRITERIA
Librarians will consider the following criteria when selecting a new electronic-only title or transferring a subscription from print to electronic or from one electronic version to another:
A. Databases
1. Content decisions: The extent to which the resource in question either directly or indirectly supports specific areas of the educational and/or research objectives of the university will be evaluated based on the criteria established in that subject area’s collection development policy. If the resource in question fails in some way to align with these criteria, librarians have the discretion to judge whether the resource may possess other qualities that distinguish it and which would add value to our electronic collection.
2. Cost: Cost is a consideration in the decision to purchase a new database. This is more often the case than with monographic purchases because of the recurring financial commitment that a subscription requires and also because freely available databases (as defined by this policy) are fairly rare.
3. Licensing for Access: Access is a fundamental consideration that is comprised of several criteria which may or may not be negotiable through the site license.
a. Remote Access:
· ability for users to access databases from off campus
· for resources that require authentication, IP recognition is preferred.
· in the absence of IP recognition, ability to freely distribute username and password to the university community
b. Simultaneous users:
· the number of users who may access a resource at a given time
· the number of simultaneous users must be cost-effective
c. Access vs. ownership:
· does the fee include perpetual access to (ownership of) the content or does it only include access to the content for the duration of the subscription?
· perpetual access (ownership) is preferred.
d. Usage rights:
· Does the vendor/publisher permit the library’s ILL department to distribute copies according to the normal and proper procedures of interlibrary loan?
· Does the vendor/publisher permit material to be put on electronic reserves or in course packets?
· Are there restrictions on downloading, printing, or viewing articles?
4. Consortial agreements: Deselection can occur when external conditions such as the exclusion of a particular database is agreed upon within a consortial group.
5. Deselection: Are usage statistics provided by the publisher? Preference will be given to those databases that provide the Library with usage statistics on which to base decisions about the relative usefulness of the database to Library users.
B. Electronic Journals
As stated above, for the purposes of this policy, an electronic journal is defined as being a digital version of a print journal, or a journal-like electronic publication with no print counterpart, made available via the Web, e-mail, or other means of Internet access.
In either case, the following criteria must be considered:
1. Content decisions: the decision whether or not the topics covered by a journal support the educational and/or research missions of the library and the university should be made based on the selection criteria outlined in the collection development policy.
2. Cost: Cost is a consideration in the decision to purchase a new subscription, more so than with monographic purchases because of the recurring financial commitment that a journal subscription requires. New subscriptions are generally added when accompanied by the cancelling of an equivalently priced journal subscription.
3. Access:
Finding aids for access: Whether or not the contents of the journal are covered in indexes to which the library subscribes should be seriously considered. The lack of inclusion in library subscribed indexes significantly reduces the usefulness of the journal to library users.
Licensing access:
a. Remote Access:
· ability for users to access databases from off campus
· for resources that require authentication, IP recognition is preferred.
· in the absence of IP recognition, ability to freely distribute username and password to the university community
b. Simultaneous users:
· the number of users who may access a resource at a given time
· the number of simultaneous users must be cost-effective
c. Access vs. ownership:
· does the fee include perpetual access to (ownership of) the content or does it only include access to the content for the duration of the subscription?
· perpetual access (ownership) is preferred.
d. Usage rights:
· Does the vendor/publisher permit the library’s ILL department to distribute copies according to the normal and proper procedures of interlibrary loan?
· Does the vendor/publisher permit material to be put on electronic reserves or in course packets?
· Are there restrictions on downloading, printing, or viewing articles?
4. Consortial agreements: Deselection can occur when a consortial subscription is not renewed.
In cases when a journal is available in more than one format (e.g. print and/or microform as well as electronic), the following additional criteria should be considered:
1. Does the library subscribe to the journal in any other format?
2. Is the selector suggesting that the Library add a subscription to the e-journal in addition to any current subscriptions to the journal in other formats? Or is the selector recommending that the Library purchase a subscription to the e-journal to replace any current subscriptions in other formats? A case could be made for either possibility and there is currently no preference as long as both possibilities are considered.
3. Is the fee to upgrade to the e-journal version reasonable? How expensive would it be to cancel the subscription to the print or microform version in favor of a subscription to the e-journal version?
4. Is there a preferred format among users? Several ways that this might be determined is by usage statistics or informal comments from users if the library is currently subscribing to the journal in another format. Does expected usage warrant the selection of a particular format or the addition of an additional format?
5. Is content in all versions/formats identical? There may be occasions where subscribing to the e-journal version of a journal may be warranted if the content of the e-journal version contains information that is unavailable in the print or microform version.
6. Is each electronic issue made available at the same time as (or earlier than) the print issue?
In cases when the journal is not available in any other format or once a preference for e-journal version is established, the following additional selection criteria should be considered:
1. What is the overall quality of the web site? For example,
a. If images, photographs, or other forms of non-test data are essential parts of articles, are the color and detail presented with acceptable clarity and accuracy?
b. Is the site easy to navigate?
c. Are there any especially desirable features present (e.g. tables of contents or alerting services)?
2. How are authorized users identified (what is the method of authentication)? Preference will be given to those e-journals that use IP recognition to identify authorized users over those e-journals that use passwords or referring URLs to do so.
3. Does the subscription include access to the e-journal's backfiles? Preference will be given to those e-journals that provide access to backfiles of a journal either through open access or as a benefit of owning a current subscription.
4. Does the subscription include a guarantee of permanent access to the volumes and issues purchased or will all access cease if (when) the subscription is cancelled? Preference will be given to those e-journals that provide a guarantee of permanent access.
5. Is any client side software required to view the content of the e-journal? Preference will be given to those e-journals that do not require special handling or software installations on Library workstations.
6. Is the website on which the e-journal is published compliant with ADA accessibility requirements? Preference will be given to those e-journals that are accessible to library users with visual, hearing, and other impairments.
7. Are usage statistics provided by the publisher? Preference will be given to those e-journals that provide the Library with usage statistics on which to base decisions about the relative usefulness of the e-journal to Library users.
III. DUPLICATION
A. The library will generally provide both print and electronic access to a journal if:
1. electronic access is available only to print subscribers
2. the content coverage is not identical to that of the print version, or the text or illustration format of the print and electronic versions is not of the same equality
3. electronic publication lags behind the print edition
4. the publisher has no commitment to archiving the electronic version.
B. In cases where the electronic version of a cancelled print title ceases to be accessible the University Library will consider resuming the print subscription and purchasing back issues if required.
(8/2013)
University of Wisconsin-Parkside Library | Contact Us
900 Wood Road Kenosha, WI 53141 | (262) 595-3432