Sociology Databases

SocINDEX with Full Text (often known as just "Soc Index") is the database to start with when you're researching sociology and related fields. Here are some tips to help you get the most out of it.

First, be sure to go to the database directly from this page, the Library's A-Z list of databases, or the Sociology Databases page.

Second, like other databases you're familiar with, Soc Index includes many kinds of sources, but they tend to be scholarly and academic, and are not meant for a general audience. In addition to scholarly and peer-reviewed articles, you'll also find books, book chapters, and papers from conferences.

Click on the numbers below to learn more about the kinds of information available for each entry in Soc Index. A few things to note:

I borrowed this interactive from a colleague, who created it for a geography class. She mentions using APA citations, but of course you'll be using ASA style for your citations. You'll still need to make sure the format is correct. Computers have a hard time getting citations right!

Pay attention to the toolbar on the right for options to save your results.

Soc Index does not have full-text for every source, but you can use the Find It () link to access full text, or ask a librarian for help getting full text. If you have problems with Find It—for example, if the link to online access is broken or leads to the wrong article—use Report a Problem to generate an email to the Parkside librarians. We'll investigate and help you get the source you're looking for.

If an item is unavailable through Parkside or from another UW library, you should request it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Articles often come in a day or two.

Always begin by clicking Find It () to see if an item is available through Parkside or another UW library (for books). The library's ILL staff will not fulfill requests for items we have. 

If no full text is available, sign in and click "Request a copy through ILL" under Get It. Articles from Interlibrary Loan often arrive within 24 hours, but may take up to two weeks. Books (that aren't in the UW system) may take up to two weeks to arrive

For book chapters, be sure to sign in and see if a UW request (or Local request, for books at Parkside) is available, even if it says "No full text available." The individual full text of a book chapter probably won't be full-text in a database, but you might be able to get the entire book from Parkside or another UW library.

Check the information in the ILL form to make sure it's complete. You can fill in any missing information from the information in the database where you first saw the item. Then go ahead and submit. Article requests are handled electronically, and you'll get an email with instructions for downloading the article when it is ready, usually within 24 hours. Books will arrive through the mail, so you'll have to come to the library after you get an email stating they have arrived.

Staff will cancel your request if the item is available via Parkside or if they can't fulfill the request. In that case, talk to a librarian for help finding alternative sources.

The library's FAQ has a section about Interlibrary Loan. You can also email the ILL staff directly with questions: lib.ill@uwp.edu.