Skip to main content

About the UW-Parkside Archives

American Brass Employees, undated

The UW-Parkside Archives and Area Research Center

The University of Wisconsin-Parkside Archives and Area Research Center is located in the D2 level of the UW-Parkside Library and works with other departments within the library to facilitate the teaching and research needs of the university. The Archive documents the history of UW-Parkside by preserving and making accessible the records of the university and its predecessor institutions. It also collects and makes available a variety of local and regional manuscript collections. These holdings include the Vincent F. Ruffolo Collection of Nash and AMC materials, the Irving Wallace collection, the David Kherdian collection, and the John Sullivan collection of aviation materials.
 
The Archives and Area Research Center is open to all UW-Parkside faculty, staff, and students and to the general public. Individuals wishing to use our materials must complete a registration form and present a valid photo ID. Materials must be used in our reading room and may not be checked out. Most collections may be temporarily transferred to another Area Research Center. Please ask an Archives staff member for details, or e-mail the Archives at archives@uwp.edu.

Parkside Area Research Center

In addition to the Archives' University Collections, The Parkside Archives serves as one of thirteen Wisconsin Area Research Centers which provide access to the holdings of the Wisconsin Historical Society using a unique transfer system. Materials held by UW-Parkside, the Wisconsin Historical Society, and other ARCs may be found by using the search box on the homepage. Many of these collections may be temporarily transferred to UW-P for your local use.

Special Collections

Located in the Archives Reading Room, UW-Parkside's Special Collections include a rich selection of artists' books, publications from noted small press publishers including Perishable Press, Mother Courage Press, and Black Sparrow Press, and monographs published in or about Racine and Kenosha.

University of Wisconsin-Parkside Library   |   Contact Us
900 Wood Road Kenosha, WI 53141 | (262) 595-3432