Library: Geography Databases: All GeographyDatabases

For me, exploration is about that journey into the interior, into your own heart. -Ann Bancroft, 1st woman to the North Pole

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Journal article citations in science and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences. 1971–present
JSTOR all access This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals, books, images, and primary sources primarily in the humanities and social sciences.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed journals, newspapers and magazines, books and other publications on many subjects.

AGSL Digital Photo Archive
AGSL Digital Photo Archive: Asia and Middle East presents over 20,000 images from the holdings of the American Geographical Society (AGS) Library. The selection focuses on the countries of Asia and the Middle East. The images come from the collections acquired over many decades by the AGS Library including an extensive photographic print collection. AGS Library is housed at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Libraries.
American Geographical Society Library Digital Map Collection
The American Geographical Society Library Digital Map Collection currently contains over 700 maps, ranging from early maps of Asia to historical maps of Wisconsin and Milwaukee, and other American cities, states, and national parks. AGS Library is housed in the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Libraries.

Countries and Their Cultures This link opens in a new window
Summaries of demographic, historical, cultural, economic, religious, and political information on countries.
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming educational videos across many disciplines. Faculty can create playlists, link to individual videos, and embed videos in Canvas.

Plat Maps of Racine and Kenosha Counties
The State of Wisconsin was surveyed by the federal government between 1833 and 1866 in order to divide the vast public domain into properly-sized lots that could be sold or otherwise divested to raise funds for the federal government and to encourage settlement. The work was done using the Public Land Survey System (PLSS), which divides land into six-mile square townships and one-mile square sections.
more...less...
Plat books and maps make use of the Public Land Survey System to represent land ownership patterns on a county-by-county basis. They are a great resource for tracing property owners and borders. The plat map for each year depicts the most updated information for the property at the time the County Register of Deeds' records were consulted. Such information includes the land owner, number of acres, placement of a house and sometimes other features.

SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, books, conference papers, and more in sociology and related topics such as race & gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, and social work.
Wisconsin Public Land Survey Records (UWDC) This link opens in a new window
The field notes and plat maps of the public land survey of Wisconsin are a valuable resource for original land survey information, as well as for understanding Wisconsin's landscape history. The survey of Wisconsin was conducted between 1832 and 1866 by the federal General Land Office. This work established the township, range and section grid; the pattern upon which land ownership and land use is based.