Provides authoritative perspectives from 1970 to present related to gender and women's studies, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) research. Articles come from an array of academic, radical, community, and independent presses.
Covers the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. Features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics.
Covers gay, lesbian, bisexual, & transgender issues. Topics include civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, psychology, religion, sociology, etc.. Covers academic, lifestyle, and regional publications. Includes the full text of significant GLBT journals, magazines & newspapers, and some books.
The greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world. In the late 1800's, Dutch physician Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen began collecting books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights.
Provides a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada. Includes letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories. Also includes several thousand pages of Ellis Island Oral History interviews.
A digitized collection of women`s diaries, biographies, and correspondence. Spanning 300+ years, it brings the personal experiences of 1,500 women to researchers, students, and general readers. Sources include journals, pamphlets, newsletters, books, and conference proceedings.
Provides a window into American social history by bringing together the instructional, prescriptive, behavioral, and etiquette literature that defined standards of personal conduct for America in the twentieth century. Contains nearly 100,000 pages of fully searchable handbooks, manuals, textbooks, etiquette guides, self-help books, instructional pamphlets, and how-to books.
Documents the multiplicity of women's activism in public life and examines perspectives on women’s social movements from colonial times to the present. It includes books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies.