Library: English Databases: ENGL 451: Witches and Wise Women

Articles and Books

The Library Search (Articles+Books+More) on the homepage includes the UW Libraries' catalogs and other databases, but it does NOT search the MLA International Bibliography. See the English Databases page for additional literature databases.

MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and books covering literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory, and dramatic arts.
America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Publications about the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
JSTOR all access This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals, books, images, and primary sources primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
Humanities International Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in history, literature, performing arts, art history, philosophy, and theology.
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, books, conference papers, and more in sociology and related topics such as race & gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, and social work.
LGBT Life with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers gay, lesbian, bisexual, & transgender issues. Topics include civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, psychology, religion, sociology, etc.. Covers academic, lifestyle, and regional publications. Includes the full text of significant GLBT journals, magazines & newspapers, and some books.

Books and Suggested Subject Terms

Library catalogs and some databases use subject terms to bring together works on a particular topic, regardless of the words or phrases authors use. Unlike keywords, subject terms are often not intuitive. This is a partial list of subject terms related to witches and women's history. Try using them alone or in combination with each other or other keywords when you search the for books.

17th century
Criticism
Civilization
Great Britain
England
Europe
Feminism
Gender identity in literature
History
History and criticism
Literature
Literature and history
Literature and society
Myth
Mythology
Puritans
Sex role
Social conditions
Trials (Witchcraft)
Wicca
Witches
Witchcraft -- England -- History
Witchcraft -- United States -- History
Witchcraft
Witch hunting
Women
Women and religion
Women in literature