Skip to main content

English Databases: ENGL 316
 

English Subject Librarian

Jennie Callas's picture
Jennie Callas

Need Help?

Chat is offline. Please contact us by email or phone.

 

Reserve a Librarian

Library FAQ

You can also contact us by:

  Email
Phone: (262) 595-2238

 

Finding Articles and Books

Library Search (Articles+Books+More) on the homepage includes the UW LIbraries' catalogs and other databases, but it does NOT search the MLA International Bibliography. See the English Databases page for additional literature databases.

Suggested Subject Terms

Library catalogs and some databases use subject terms to bring together all the works on a particular topic, regardless of the words or phrases authors use. Unlike keywords, subject terms are often not intuitive. This is a list of selected subject terms related to British literature to 1500, the Middle Ages, the Medieval period, and other topics you'll be covering in your presentations. Try using them alone or in combination with each other or other keywords when you search the UW Libraries.

  • Catholic Church
  • Christian pilgrims and pilgrimages
  • Church history -- Middle Ages, 600-1500
  • Civilization, Medieval
  • English literature -- Middle English, 1100-1500 -- History and criticism
  • Great Britain -- History -- 1066-1687
  • Great Britain -- Intellectual life -- 1066-1485
  • History
  • Literature, Medieval
  • Medievalism
  • Middle Ages
  • Religion
  • Social history -- Medieval, 500-1500
  • Women -- History -- Middle Ages, 500-1500

Supplemental Videos

There are several videos in Films on Demand that cover aspects of the Middle Ages and Medieval history. Here are few titles you may want to explore:

Illuminations: The Private Life of Kings

Inside the Medieval Mind

Medieval Masterpieces: The Beauty of Books

Manuscripts

The British Library has a collection of digitized manuscripts.

Call Numbers

These call-number ranges might be useful, but other relevant materials might be in other locations. The Library of Congress has a detailed guide showing a breakdown of call numbers.

BP 1-253 = Islam
BR = Christianity
BR 160-275 =  Early and medieval
BR 735-799 = Europe (Britain and Ireland)
BX 800-4795 = Catholic Church
BX2315-2324 = Relics. Shrines. Pilgrimages. Processions

DA 129-260 = History of England. Early and medieval to 1485
DL 61-65 = History of Northern Europe, Scandinavia. Earliest to 1387
DP 91-160 = History of Spain. Earliest to 1516

PN 661-694 = Literary History. Medieval to 1500
PR 171-236 =
English Literature. Anglo-Saxon (Beginnings through 1066)
PR 251-369 = English Literature. Medieval. Middle English (1066-1500)
PR 1490-1799 = Anglo-Saxon literature.
PR 1803-2165 = Anglo-Norman period. Early English. Middle English

University of Wisconsin-Parkside Library   |   Contact Us
900 Wood Road Kenosha, WI 53141 | (262) 595-2238