Skip to Main Content
Environmental Studies Web Resources
- Biodiversity Hotspots - Site by Conservation International, focuses on critically threatened ecosystems around the world.
- Center for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN) - Columbia University hosted site, provides information related to human impact on the environment.
- DataOne - A searchable repository of environmental data sets.
- Envirofacts Data Warehouse - From the EPA. Statistics, reports, maps and other data.
- Environmental Issues at the National Academies - Advisory reports on Science, Engineering and Medicine.
- The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
- Freshwater Ecoregions of the World
- National Library for the Environment - Maintained by the Committee for the National Institute of the Environment.
- NatureServe - Non-profit conservation organization working to provide the scientific data needed for informed action.
- Science.gov - One comprehensive source to search over 38 databases and 1,950 selected websites offering scientific information from the U.S. government.
- Trade and Environment Database (TED) - Includes environmental case studies divided into 28 different categories. This database may be reached from the above link to the International Affairs Pathfinder.
- United Nations Environment Programme - search by thematic area, e.g. Poverty & Environment or Sustainable Consumption.
- United Nations Environment Programme (Environment for Development) - Focuses on the impact of development on the environment; includes data regarding population density and other data sets.
- U.S. Department of Energy - Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy
- U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
- Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources - Dedicated to working with the citizens and businesses of Wisconsin while preserving and enhancing the natural resources of Wisconsin.
- Wisconsin Environment Research & Policy Center - Dedicated to protecting our air, water and open spaces.
- World Conservation Monitoring Centre - Focus on biodiversity, from the United Nations Environment Programme.
- World Resources Institute - Provides a variety of publications on People & Ecosystems, Governance, Climate Protection and Markets & Enterprise.
