Library: Primary Sources: Newspapers &amp; Periodicals

Historical Newspapers and Periodicals

17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Newspapers and news pamphlets from 17th and 18th London, with some English provincial, Irish, and Scottish papers and a few from the American colonies, Europe, and India.
19th Century British Newspapers This link opens in a new window
National and regional newspapers from 19th-century Britain.
African American Newspapers (1827-1998) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper articles by and about Black Americans
African American Periodicals (1825-1995) This link opens in a new window
Newspapers and magazines by and about Black Americans.
America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1922) This link opens in a new window
US newspapers viewable as full-page images.
Newspaper Archive (Wisconsin) This link opens in a new window
Daily and weekly newspapers in Wisconsin (2005–present), with a delay of 60 days. Funded by BadgerLink.
British Newspapers 1600-1950 This link opens in a new window
British historic newspapers. Includes essays and contextual materials to help with analysis.
Chicago Tribune Archive (1849-present) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper pages and articles back to the first issue.
Life Magazine Archive (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Articles, photos, and advertisements from Life's full run, 1936–2000.
New York Times Archive (1851-2016) This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with full text back to the first issue.
NewsVault This link opens in a new window
Historical newspapers.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Papers This link opens in a new window
Newspaper articles from nineteenth-century America.
Time Magazine Archive (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Articles and advertisements from the weekly news magazine, 1923–2000.
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Archives of the newspaper The Times of London from 1785–1985.
Wisconsin Local History & Biography Articles (WHS) This link opens in a new window
Historical newspaper articles on Wisconsin people and communities.