Primary source material in American history. Information is from leading historical periodicals and books and includes eyewitness accounts of historical events, vivid descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records.
Part of the Readex America's Historical Newspapers collection, created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the United States—those of the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society, and the Library of Congress.
Features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Created in partnership with the Wisconsin Historical Society, the Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress, chronicling 150 years of African American experience.
A selection of periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special-interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals.
Artemis Primary Sources is an integrated research environment that allows users to search across all of their Gale primary source collections. Artemis Primary Sources takes users beyond a simple search and retrieve workflow, allowing them to analyze content using frequency and term-relationship tools. Through intuitive subject-indexing users will discover new material even in the most familiar of content sets.
Covers the early encounters between Native Americans, Africans, Europeans, and Americans on the North American continent. Drawn from over 1,000 published and unpublished items from a variety of primary sources.
The greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world. In the late 1800's, Dutch physician Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen began collecting books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights.
Includes primary documents and scholarly commentary. In addition to an extensive selection of key treatises, it offers a wealth of rare materials, including songs, letters, photographs, cartoons, government documents, and ephemera.
A digital preservation repository that provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in-copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.
ProQuest History Vault unlocks the wealth of key archival materials with a single search. Researchers can access digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections.
*If access doesn't work on the first click, try again*
The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts in its collections. The Library is the main research arm of the U.S. Congress and the home of the U.S. Copyright Office.
The New York Times Archive offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Provides a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada. Includes letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories. Also includes several thousand pages of Ellis Island Oral History interviews.
A digitized collection of women`s diaries, biographies, and correspondence. Spanning 300+ years, it brings the personal experiences of 1,500 women to researchers, students, and general readers. Sources include journals, pamphlets, newsletters, books, and conference proceedings.
Since its foundation in early 2000, the UWDCC has worked collaboratively with UW System faculty, staff, and librarians to create and provide access to digital resources that support the teaching and research needs of the UW community, uniquely document the university and State of Wisconsin, and provide access to rare or fragile items of broad research value. The UWDCC has also partnered with cultural heritage institutions and public libraries throughout Wisconsin to create digital resources.
Documents the multiplicity of women's activism in public life and examines perspectives on women’s social movements from colonial times to the present. It includes books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies.