ProQuest History Vault unlocks the wealth of key archival materials with a single search. Researchers can access digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections.
*If access doesn't work on the first click, try again*
Primary source material in American history. Information is from leading historical periodicals and books and includes eyewitness accounts of historical events, vivid descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records.
Part of the Readex America's Historical Newspapers collection, created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the United States—those of the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society, and the Library of Congress.
Features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Created in partnership with the Wisconsin Historical Society, the Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress, chronicling 150 years of African American experience.
A selection of periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special-interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals.
Artemis Primary Sources is an integrated research environment that allows users to search across all of their Gale primary source collections. Artemis Primary Sources takes users beyond a simple search and retrieve workflow, allowing them to analyze content using frequency and term-relationship tools. Through intuitive subject-indexing users will discover new material even in the most familiar of content sets.
The British Newspapers 1600-1950 is the most significant digital collection of British historic newspapers. New conservation and imaging techniques and a new cross-searchable platform adopted by the British Library offers unparalleled access and discoverability to this valuable historical and cultural archive. In addition one will find specially commissioned essays and contextual materials written by expert scholars intended to help non-specialist users with perspective and analysis.
Covers the early encounters between Native Americans, Africans, Europeans, and Americans on the North American continent. Drawn from over 1,000 published and unpublished items from a variety of primary sources.
Features 250 essays on the varied experiences of social movement media over the planet in the 20th and 21st centuries. Thematic essays address issues like human rights media, indigenous peoples' media, and environmentalist media, and key concepts widely used in the field such as alternative media, citizens' media, and community media. The Encyclopedia engages with all communication media: broadcasting, print, cinema, the Internet, popular song, street theater, graffiti, and dance.
Covers the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa, with major sections on Colonialism and Imperialism, the World Wars, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and the United Nations' involvement in the region. Each country in the region is reviewed, detailing its population, economy, and government
Provides online access to 20,000+ streaming educational videos and video clips across a wide range of academic disciplines. Faculty can create playlists, link to individual videos, and embed videos in course pages or web sites.
The greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world. In the late 1800's, Dutch physician Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen began collecting books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights.
Includes primary documents and scholarly commentary. In addition to an extensive selection of key treatises, it offers a wealth of rare materials, including songs, letters, photographs, cartoons, government documents, and ephemera.
HeritageQuest Online is the marriage of ProQuest's Genealogy & Local History Online, a collection of over 25,000 family and local histories, and content from HeritageQuest, the largest genealogical data, products, supplies and equipment provider to consumers and institutions in the United States. Funded by BadgerLink.
Access limited to 1 user at a time
The standard encyclopaedia for medieval studies. Deals with all branches of Medieval Studies and covers the period from 300 to 1500 AD/CE for the whole of Europe and parts of the Middle East and North Africa. Includes 36,700 signed articles by 3000 authors, providing coverage of the European Middle Ages (published 1977-1999).
An index of research, policy, and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia, and North Africa. Subject coverage includes: political affairs & law, international relations, economic affairs, business & industry, cultural heritage, arts & humanities, society & social welfare, ethnic diversity & anthropology, significant religious events, movements and recent history (1900–present), & archaeology.
MECAS includes the following: Middle East Bibliography (1946 - 2001), Middle East Book Bibliographies, Theses & Dissertations, MECAS Citations Database and School of Oriental & African Studies (SOAS) Library Catalogue (1900 - present).
Provides full text from 320+ military and general interest publications. Designed to bring current news to all branches of the military and matters relating to the military and military life. Also indexes and abstracts over 360 magazines, including Military Review, Parameters, Army Times, and Defense.
The New York Times Archive offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
NewsVault delivers the definitive cross-searching experience for exploring your library's collection of Gale historical newspapers. With the power to search over 10 million digitized facsimile pages, Gale NewsVault provides an unparalleled window to the past.
A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary-source collections of the nineteenth century. The content comes from the world's preeminent libraries and archives. It consists of monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other documents in both Western and non-Western languages.
Provides a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada. Includes letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories. Also includes several thousand pages of Ellis Island Oral History interviews.
A digitized collection of women`s diaries, biographies, and correspondence. Spanning 300+ years, it brings the personal experiences of 1,500 women to researchers, students, and general readers. Sources include journals, pamphlets, newsletters, books, and conference proceedings.
Offers full-text current and archival articles from 500+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. Coverage: 1995-present
The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. The 700 or so bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets were published mostly in London, however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.
First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive allows users to search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source.
Provides a window into American social history by bringing together the instructional, prescriptive, behavioral, and etiquette literature that defined standards of personal conduct for America in the twentieth century. Contains nearly 100,000 pages of fully searchable handbooks, manuals, textbooks, etiquette guides, self-help books, instructional pamphlets, and how-to books.
Since its foundation in early 2000, the UWDCC has worked collaboratively with UW System faculty, staff, and librarians to create and provide access to digital resources that support the teaching and research needs of the UW community, uniquely document the university and State of Wisconsin, and provide access to rare or fragile items of broad research value. The UWDCC has also partnered with cultural heritage institutions and public libraries throughout Wisconsin to create digital resources.
Documents the multiplicity of women's activism in public life and examines perspectives on women’s social movements from colonial times to the present. It includes books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies.