An index of research, policy, and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia, and North Africa. Subject coverage includes: political affairs & law, international relations, economic affairs, business & industry, cultural heritage, arts & humanities, society & social welfare, ethnic diversity & anthropology, significant religious events, movements and recent history (1900–present), & archaeology.
MECAS includes the following: Middle East Bibliography (1946 - 2001), Middle East Book Bibliographies, Theses & Dissertations, MECAS Citations Database and School of Oriental & African Studies (SOAS) Library Catalogue (1900 - present).
Features 250 essays on the varied experiences of social movement media over the planet in the 20th and 21st centuries. Thematic essays address issues like human rights media, indigenous peoples' media, and environmentalist media, and key concepts widely used in the field such as alternative media, citizens' media, and community media. The Encyclopedia engages with all communication media: broadcasting, print, cinema, the Internet, popular song, street theater, graffiti, and dance.
Covers the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa, with major sections on Colonialism and Imperialism, the World Wars, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and the United Nations' involvement in the region. Each country in the region is reviewed, detailing its population, economy, and government
Provides online access to 20,000+ streaming educational videos and video clips across a wide range of academic disciplines. Faculty can create playlists, link to individual videos, and embed videos in course pages or web sites.
The greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world. In the late 1800's, Dutch physician Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen began collecting books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights.
Access limited to 1 user at a time
The standard encyclopaedia for medieval studies. Deals with all branches of Medieval Studies and covers the period from 300 to 1500 AD/CE for the whole of Europe and parts of the Middle East and North Africa. Includes 36,700 signed articles by 3000 authors, providing coverage of the European Middle Ages (published 1977-1999).
Provides full text from 320+ military and general interest publications. Designed to bring current news to all branches of the military and matters relating to the military and military life. Also indexes and abstracts over 360 magazines, including Military Review, Parameters, Army Times, and Defense.
A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary-source collections of the nineteenth century. The content comes from the world's preeminent libraries and archives. It consists of monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other documents in both Western and non-Western languages.
Offers full-text current and archival articles from 500+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. Coverage: 1995-present
Since its foundation in early 2000, the UWDCC has worked collaboratively with UW System faculty, staff, and librarians to create and provide access to digital resources that support the teaching and research needs of the UW community, uniquely document the university and State of Wisconsin, and provide access to rare or fragile items of broad research value. The UWDCC has also partnered with cultural heritage institutions and public libraries throughout Wisconsin to create digital resources.